Month: February 2013

  • Botcon 2013 Box Set Thoughts

    Now that Fun Publications has released mockups of this years box set figures it seemed like to a good time to take a look at them as individuals and as a unified set.  This year theme is an extension of Machine Wars and not a redux like they did with Generations 2.  That fact makes me believe most of the heavy hitting characters such as Optimus, Megatron, Starscream and Soundwave will not be represented as any part of the 2013 figures.

    Hoist - I was extremely impressed with this reveal.  The head sculpt was dead on and the deco did a faithful job of representing an upgraded MW Hoist into a modern toy using the Generations Kup mold.  Sure there’s no tow hook but I have a feeling something is in the works … One would expect Towline to be an add-on (or potentially Electro or eventually both with one being part of the next subscription service).  I rate Hoist an 8 out of 10.

    Skywarp - Another impressive head sculpt that represents the Machine Wars style very well.  I do like that ROTF Dirge mold and the two combined make a nice physical figure.  In terms of deco it’s nice FunPub tried to incorporate the teleportation design into the figure but that just seems like a one trick pony in terms of play and display.  It’s almost as if Skywarp is “stuck” in that half-mode all the time.  I almost wish they didn’t do that but somehow made the material like the old G2 Aquaspeeders that had temperature-sensitive paint that would change color when hit with different temperature water.  Having that “gimmick” could have simulated the “teleportation” and ultimately make the figure more appealing.  Beyond that, and I know it’s photoshopped but the silver body paint seems too bright to a point of being washed out.  I definitely believe the deco brings down the overall appeal of the figure.  I do realize some do not like the ROTF Dirge mold but IMO it’s not a bad choice.  I rate Skywarp a 5 out of 10 with the bulk of positives coming from the head design.

    Strika - Seeing Strika something just felt off.  The head is dead-on as is the deco very toon accurate.  It’s something about the mold that keeps me from totally liking the figure.  I realize that my idea of Strika stems more from her Animated self verse her Machine Wars self.  In that sense Strika should be more top heavy and opposing.  Whereas, though I like the Generations Warpath mold, it’s too slim and sleek for my tastes.  I will say it’s neat that the original MW toy has the twin long shoulder missiles/lasers and the Warpath mold has one of them.  If somehow they could have replaced the quad-missile pack with another single missile launcher I think that would have helped.  Yeah, that’s not really possible since it’s not part of the mold but oh well.  Great new head and paint but the physical portion of Strika doesn’t do it for me.  I rate Strika a 5 out of 10 with me thinking about Animated but really I know most people like the figure.

    Obsidian - I didn’t really see this one coming.  Sure the toy is not the proper vehicle but the robot mode is darn close.  Again another great head sculpt which really help make these figures feel like the characters.  The mold choice seems appropriate but I’ve personally have never messed with any of the previous incarnations of this figure.  The deco is very faithful to the original toy which irks many folks because Strika is toon accurate but now Obsidian is toy accurate.  I normally would have liked to have the pair work in tandon and be consistent but there’s something about that green that makes him stand out to me in a positive way.  It’s funny because this green is a brighter, more vibrant version of Highbrow whereas if Obsidian was toon accurate he’d be closer to Powerdive.  I give Obsidian a 7 out of 10.

    Megaplex - It’s funny this morning before the reveal I went through a list of potential vehicles Megaplex could be.  Prime RiD Dreadwing made it to the list but I really did not think it would happen.  I was pleasantly surprised that it did.  This is a great mold and even though the head sculpt is very Prime-ish there’s are some connections in the design to the original Machine Wars Megaplex.  Sure a new head would have been nice but to get four new heads on the other figures to REALLY make them is impressive in my book.  It’s just the color deco could have been improved upon.  Sure he looks like the original character but that character had horrible colors on it.  Bad then still equals bad now.  This figure really could have made the set “pop” but it really needed to go a step or two further to do that.  I give Megaplex a 6 out of 10.  If there was a new head I could probably forgive the lack of paint deco’s.  Even more deco’s would have balanced out the lack of a new head.  But like I said it really just needs to be take a step or two beyond what it is to be an outstanding figure. 

    [Side Note: Most believe that since PRID Dreadwing is being used then MW Starscream will be made from it for one of the add-on packs.  Definitely a possibility because of the similarities and I would welcome that as one has to believe there still needs to be one "heavy hitter" to help sell toys.  Too many lower tier characters that don't sell and FunPub get's stuck with toys sitting in a warehouse which does make Brian happy.]


    Overall I thought FunPub tried it’s best to represent an extension of Machine Wars.  The head sculpts all look great and one hopes they turn out great post-production.  It’s a great idea to bring in Strika and Obsidian as Autobot Generals.  My gut feeling is I’m going to like the fiction and be just OK on the figures.  Which is somewhat sad since the box set went up $25 from last year.  Even with two Voyager class figures that’s a lot of coin for figures I’m mostly ‘meh’ on. 

    When comparing this set to previous years I feel it’s one of the bottom tier sets – absolutely better than 05 and 09 but probably on par with 2010.  Minor tweaks to each figure would help and who knows once we start seeing real prototypes the actual colors may make the figures stand out beyond what can be done through Photoshop.

  • Finally, No More Tears …

    Well I’m sure there will be some tears.  Maybe.    After about a year’s amount of work and prototyping here’s pictures of the complete BC12 Octoduck Upgrade set.

    I will be the first to admit this was a painful process.  I learned a ton but trying to be a perfectionist with these kits my disclaimer is when I have time I do plan on tweaking this set.  The head, though it fits, can be a tight fit when transformed into vehicle mode.  The tentacles, due to the material, can be loose as ball and socket joints.  A little of nail polish could help with that.  I want perfection and yet it’s not always achievable.

    Beyond that it’s GREAT!    For now only the complete set and the head will be available on Shapeways.

    On to other things, including something already in the prototyping stage for BC13. 

  • I take no responsibility

    For Classics Legends Megatron. 

    I take no responsibility if people use this and get busted by the cops.